Author Topic: Random E-Stop events in Mach3 via ESS even though there E-Stop LED on PMD  (Read 4209 times)

EricMack

• View Profile
I recently replaced my CNC4PC C32 BOB with a PMDX-126 board. While I am still learning, I find the PMDX-126 board well designed and a delight to use.

MY CONFIGURATION
ESS -->> PMDX-126 -->> MACH3
I also have the PMDX-107 and PMDX-179

PROBLEM:  I'm getting random E-Stop into Mach3 via ESS even though there E-Stop LED on PMDX-126 is OFF

I'm not sure the PMDX-126 is actually the source of the problem. I just want to know if there are some standard things to look for.

Apart from a possible issue with the PMDX-126 (unlikely) I think this could well be a (self-inflicted) problem in how I have shared the E-Stop signal and ground with my KBIC Controller and my PMDX-126 (See this post: http://www.pmdx.com/PMDX-Forums/index.php?topic=332.msg1386#msg1386 )

Here's what that looks like:

E-STOP SIGNAL  ---+-->> PMDX-126
                                        |
                                        +-->> KBIC "ENABLE" input

E-Stop, PMDX-126 and KBIC share common signal ground.

One thought I had was to disconnect the shared E-Stop and Ground wires between the PMDX-126 and SIGM/KBIC driver and see what that does, but before I make any more changes I thought I would seek your guidance on common ways to troubleshoot random E-Stop signals into my ESS even though the PMDX-126 E-Stop LED does not show an E-Stop condition.

Thanks.

Eric

Bob at PMDX

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • PMDX
If you don't see the red EStop LED on the PMDX-126 turn on, then the electronics on the PMDX-126 are not generating the EStop.  The PMDX-126 has an EStop pulse stretcher on it.  The PMDX-126 will *always* output an EStop pulse that is at least 1 second wide, even if there is a very narrow pulse on the EStop input.