Author Topic: Freezing during G code run  (Read 6458 times)

JW

• View Profile
Freezing during G code run
« on: May 30, 2015, 07:43:32 PM »
PMDX,

I have been using the 422 with mach4 for a few months now. It has been running well except for a problem with the spindle speed control (407) a few months back (earlier post). I am now having a problem when I run G code. The G code will begin to run and then freeze in seemingly random places. At this point, I am unable to stop the run or to disable (mach4 not responding with a corresponding unable to disable-communication error in the history).

I have tried with two different mach4 builds with two different pmdx vers (2236,2238 and 0.17.86,0.25.111) with same results. I have tried two different G code loads (both which I've run error free multiple times with this same setup before). I have tried with two different computers (both running the same version of mach).

Jogging of the three axis is still working fine. Of note, when I run the G code with the stepper drivers depowered the g code seems to run through ok.

Thanks,
-Jim

Bob at PMDX

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • PMDX
Re: Freezing during G code run
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2015, 11:38:58 PM »
Well, the history file that you sent shows our plug-in reporting a communication problem between the PC and the PMDX-422.  Since this happens at seemingly random times the most likely cause is noise corrupting the USB transfers.  That is presuming you are running our plug-in build 0.25.111 and Mach4 build 2336 (and letting our plug-in update the firmware when it asks to).

A quick aside, as I don't think this is your problem. You mention Mach4 builds 2236 and 2238 and our plug-in versions 0.17.86 and 0.25.111.  I presume you meant Mach4 build 2336 instead of 2236.  Our plug-in version 0.25 111 will run with Mach4 build 2336, but there was never (to my knowledge) a Mach4 build 2236.

A few questions: