Author Topic: PMDX 126 & 108 - Spindle Encoder  (Read 5662 times)

spumco

• View Profile
PMDX 126 & 108 - Spindle Encoder
« on: October 06, 2016, 11:18:52 AM »
Having a problem as I go through the process of designing the control system on a 4-axis mill (retrofit).  As I'm sure you're used to hearing - I'm a novice at this stuff so electronic terms may go sailing over my head.

Current hiccup is that I'm trying to get the spindle encoder signal to both my VFD and the control software.  The VFD needs feedback for low-speed accuracy and improved torque, and the software needs it to do rigid tapping (via electronic gearing between spindle and Z-axis motor).  I'd like - but don't need - to send an index signal to the software as well in case I fit a tool changer that has to be homed.

The WJ200 VFD accepts a 2-channel single-ended signal (A, B, GND).  The A-terminal can be 5-24Vdc, but the B-terminal must be 24Vdc only.

The software and motion controller (UCCNC/UC400ETH) can monitor 2 pins for a spindle encoder signal (A, B), as well as an index signal.

My spindle motor encoder is a BEI quadrature with index (A+, A_, B+, B_, Z+, Z_) and operates at 5-24Vdc.

Other inputs (not including estop, resets, enables, etc):
3/ea NPN-NC homing (10-30Vdc)
1/ea NPN-NC limits (6/ea 10-30Vdc, series)
1/ea 24Vdc VFD alarm signal
2/ea touch probes (future)

Although I already have a two-port BOB, it is restricted to 5Vdc only inputs.  This is going to be enough of a hassle to attach the 24Vdc inputs that I'm happy to spend money on a PMDX BOB that makes wiring/integrating easier.

It appears that a PMDX 126 plus a 108 input board will provide me with the inputs I need/want for current and future expansion, as well as making the wiring easier for homing/limits.  If not, please let me know.